Philanthropy Awards

Bank of the West Celebrates Philanthropy.

In 2014 Bank of the West was proud to announce that, a nonprofit design firm, and Inner City Advisors (ICA), an economic development nonprofit, were each awarded $100,000 grants as winners of the bank’s fifth annual Philanthropy Awards. The awards recognize nonprofit innovation, leadership and measurable impact across the bank’s regions and beyond.

IDEO 2014 winner's group

Pictured L to R: Jeff Hoffmann, Regional Manager in the Wealth Management Group, Bank of the West; Jose Corona, CEO, Inner City Advisors; Patrice Martin, Creative Director,; Jenny Flores, Head of Community Affairs, Bank of the West; Michael Shepherd, Chairman and CEO, Bank of the West., Winner of Innovation Award

San Francisco-based received the bank's Innovation in Philanthropy Award, which recognizes a visionary, ambitious and entrepreneurial nonprofit organization that employs new and creative approaches to addressing challenging social issues that especially affect under-served communities.

In recognizing, the bank was drawn to how the nonprofit helps social enterprises innovate through human-centered design (HCD) – an approach to problem solving which results in higher uptake, impact and scale. Launched in 2011 to bring HCD to the social sector, has completed over 50 design projects with partner organizations, tackling everything from employment and financial inclusion to early childhood development and sanitation. More than 65 percent of the innovations has created are on a path to implementation, and are expected to reach over 25,000 people in 2015.

Inner City Advisors, Winner of Community Impact Award

Oakland-based ICA received the bank's Community Impact Award, which recognizes an inspirational nonprofit organization making significant advancement in transforming life outcomes for people from under-resourced communities on a local, statewide or regional level.

The bank recognized ICA for its work with small businesses in Bay Area communities to fill critical gaps and create a more equitable and impactful economic network. Since its founding almost 20 years ago, ICA has helped to create and retain over 10,000 jobs, contributing services such as entrepreneurship education, management consulting and talent management to urban and non-urban demographics. Each year, it works with 125-150 entrepreneurs who are committed to scaling their businesses and providing opportunity for the people that need it most. In 2013, the ICA generated over $68 million in total wealth for the Bay Area and increased total minority-held positions by 10 percent.

To learn more about and ICA, watch these Bank of the West-sponsored videos telling the story of their work.

About the Bank of the West Philanthropy Awards

Bank of the West's Wealth Management Group and Community Affairs Department created the Philanthropy Awards in 2010 to highlight the bank's commitment to community, and also honor organizations that are making tremendous strides in improving the quality of life for individuals and families within the communities it serves. Nonprofits are selected each year based on eligibility criteria, with final awardees being selected by a jury comprised of an internal selection committee along with external nonprofit and foundation leaders.